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What you need to know 
Am I eligible? 
Paid Family and Medical Leave is available to almost everyone working in 
Washington. To be eligible you: 

1. Have worked 820 hours (about 16 hours a week) in Washington 
during the qualifying period, which is about the last year. 

2. Experienced a qualifying event.  
 
How much time do I get?  
You can receive up to 12 weeks of medical leave to recover after an illness 
or injury, or family leave to take care of a qualifying family member who is 
ill or injured.  

You can take up to 16 weeks of combined medical and family leave if you 
have events covered by both in the same year.  

Up to 18 weeks is available if you experience a complication in pregnancy 
that results in incapacity, like being put on bedrest due to a serious health 
condition. 

What benefit do I receive? 
You may receive up to 90 percent of your average weekly wage, depending on your income. The amount is capped at 
$1,000 per week. A benefit estimator is available at paidleave.wa.gov/estimate-your-weekly-pay. 
 
How do I apply? 
You apply for leave with the Employment Security Department. You do need to notify your employer at least 30 days in 
advance of planned leave. If the leave is not foreseeable, provide as much notice as you can. 
 
Do I have to use other leave first? 
Taking Paid Family and Medical Leave is entirely up to you. There is no requirement to use Paid Family and Medical Leave 
before other paid time off you might have, like paid sick days or vacation leave.  
 
What if I need to care for a family member? 
Paid Family and Medical Leave is all about caring for yourself and your 
family. If you are eligible for Paid Family and Medical Leave and have a 
family member with a serious health condition who needs care, this 
program is here for you. You need to: 

o Meet the eligibility requirements of the program. 
o Notify your employer in writing at least 30 days in advance 

of planned leave, or as soon as you can for unplanned 
leave. 

o Get required documentation from your family member’s 
healthcare provider.  

o Apply for Paid Family and Medical Leave at 
www.paidleave.wa.gov 

Qualifying events 
Medical leave (for yourself) 
 

• Recovery from your own serious 
health condition or injury, 
including pregnancy and 
childbirth. 
 

Family leave 
• Caring for a family member with a 

serious health condition or injury. 
• Bonding with a new child coming 

into your family through birth, 
adoption or foster placement. 

• Certain events for military 
families. 

You can take leave for 
• Yourself 

 
Or a family member: 

• Spouse  
• Domestic partner 
• Children (including step and foster) 
• Grandchildren  
• Siblings  
• Parents (including in-law and loco 

parentis) 
• Grandparents  

 
 
 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
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Application process  

 

 

Get ready to apply 
Assess eligibility.  
Use the questionnaire on page 7 or visit paidleave.wa.gov/quiz. 
 
Provide written notice to your employer at least 30 days before you plan to start leave. Provide notice as soon as 
you are able to if the leave is not planned. Notice can be provided in various ways, including text or email. You can also 
download a template notification on our website, paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply. It is always a good idea to 
retain a copy for your records. 
 
Get your documents ready 

• Proof of ID, including a driver’s license, passport or utility and phone 
bills (a complete list of documents is available at 
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply). 

• Certification of a Serious Health Condition form, FMLA paperwork or 
other documentation that meets the requirements. This needs to be 
signed by a doctor or qualifying medical provider. (It can sometimes 
take two weeks or more for your doctor’s office to process this paperwork, so be sure to submit it as soon as possible.) 

Go to  www.paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply for a complete list of documents and to download the 
Certification of a Serious Health Condition form.  

 

Video tutorials and instructions are available at paidleave.wa.gov/technical-support.  

Don’t apply for leave until 
after your medical event 
has taken place. 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/quiz
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/technical-support
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Apply for leave 
Applications are available now. Here is what you will do:  
Create account(s) 
• Go to www.paidleave.wa.gov. From our website you will be 

directed to the state’s log-in service, SecureAccess Washington 
(www.secureaccess.wa.gov). Use an existing SAW login or create a 
new one. (Not sure if you have a SAW login? Click the “Get Help” 
button on the SAW homepage to find out.) 

• You will then create a Paid Family and Medical Leave account.  
 
Fill in the application 
• You’ll provide basic information and verify your employment 

history. 
• Please note: Your employer will also be notified by mail when you 

apply. They will have 18 days to contest your application if they 
feel you are not eligible for the program. 

 
Upload documents 
• Proof of ID documents 
• Certification of a Serious Health Condition (if applicable) 
 
Get your determination 
• Once your application is submitted and you’ve provided the 

necessary documents, we will review your application and then mail you a determination letter at the mailing address 
you gave us.  

o If approved, this letter will provide a maximum weekly benefit amount you may receive and confirm the dates 
of your approved leave and claim year.  

 We may contact you if we have questions about your application. 
• Once your application is approved, there is a “waiting week.” This is required by law for all types of leave except 

parental bonding leave. During this time, you may use paid time off from your employer, including paid vacation or 
sick days. If the first week of your paid family or medical leave happens before you receive your approval letter and 
are able to begin filing weekly claims, that first week still counts as your waiting week.  

o For example, say your paid family or medical leave start date is April 13 and you receive your approval letter 
on April 22. Once you are approved and can file weekly claims, the first week of your approved leave is your 
waiting week, so the first week you can claim is the week of April 19. 

o You can begin filing for past weeks right away. You may go up to four weeks without filing and receive those 
payments retroactively. 
 

Can’t apply online? You can also apply on paper via postal mail. Request an application from our Customer Care Team. 

What is in the application? 
→ Basic information about yourself (full 

name, date of birth, address, contact 
information, Social Security Number or 
Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Number).  

→ Verification of your employment history.  
→ The date you notified your employer 

about your planned leave. 
→ What type of leave you’re taking (family 

or medical). 

Important tip! 
Doublecheck your name and your SSN/ITIN 
before finalizing your account creation and 
application. 
 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.secureaccess.wa.gov/
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File a weekly claim 
• Your “waiting week” is the first week you are approved to file a weekly claim. 

Claim weeks always end on Saturday night. If the qualifying event occurred 
mid-week, the “waiting week” may be less than a week. 

• Weekly claims are how you receive your pay. Once your claim is approved 
you can begin filing weekly claims. Claims can also be filed for weeks you 
were on leave after your qualifying event occurred but before your 
application was approved. You also may be able to backdate your claim 
because you were unable to file for Paid Family and Medical Leave right after 
your event occurred.  

• You can file weekly claims online or by calling each week. You may go up to four weeks without filing and receive 
those payments retroactively.  

o Each week, we will ask you if anything has changed about the length of leave or your qualifying event, and if 
you worked or received paid time off from your employer during the past week.  

o If you worked or received other benefits, like employer-provided paid time off that is not designated as a 
supplemental benefit, your payment will be reduced that week. 

o You cannot collect Unemployment Insurance or workers’ compensation benefits at the same time as Paid 
Family and Medical Leave. 

o If you go four weeks without filing, your claim will become inactive and you’ll have to take additional steps to 
restart your claim. 

• If you apply online, you can choose to be paid via direct deposit or a prepaid debit card. If you apply on paper, you 
can only receive a prepaid debit card at this time.  

• If you use paid time off at the same time as Paid Family and Medical Leave your benefit payment will be affected. 
However, your employer may choose to offer additional pay to you while you are using Paid Family and Medical Leave 
– this is called a “supplemental benefit.” Not all paid time off is a supplemental benefit, so you need to check with 
your employer if this is available to you. It is your employer’s choice to offer a supplemental benefit, and your choice 
to take it if it is available. 

• The minimum claim for each week is eight consecutive hours.  
• Visit paidleave.wa.gov/after-you-apply for more information and tips on what to expect after you apply. 
 

More to know 
You may be eligible for job protection. If you work for a company that employs more than 50 people in Washington, 
you have worked there for at least a year and for a total of 1,250 hours in the past year for that employer (about 24 hours 
per week), you are likely eligible for job protection. 

Even if you took leave in 2019, you can still use Paid Family and Medical Leave in 2020. Use of other paid or unpaid 
leave in 2019 doesn’t limit your ability to take Paid Family and Medical Leave in 2020 (including using FMLA). You still 
must meet the eligibility requirements for the program however and depending on how much time you took off you may 
not be eligible for job protection.  

Providing complete and 
accurate information 
will help us process 
your application and 
weekly claims faster.  

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/after-you-apply
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If your qualifying event happened in 2019, you may be eligible for 
the program if you still have a medical reason to be on leave. For 
example, if you had surgery in December 2019 and are still recovering, 
you can apply for benefits in 2020. 

Using this program is your choice. It is yours – you earned it. While 
you are welcome to use other leave options you may have before or 
after you take Paid Family and Medical Leave, your employer cannot require you to use other leave options before Paid 
Family and Medical Leave.  

Check with your employer if they offer a “supplemental benefit.” You cannot use employer provided paid time off at 
the same time as Paid Family and Medical Leave, unless your employer offers what is called “a supplemental benefit.” 
Supplemental benefits are something an employer may choose to offer that can be used along with Paid Family and 
Medical Leave to provide additional pay while you are receiving the benefit. Ask your employer if this option is available to 
you. 

This is not the same as paid sick leave. Paid sick days are for short-term health conditions that keep you from working, 
typically for less than a week. For more information on paid sick leave, visit www.lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/leave/paid-sick-
leave 

Multiple people can provide care for a qualifying family member. Caregivers do not have to take leave at the same 
time and more than one person can take leave for the same event as long as they all meet eligibility requirements. Each 
person will fill out a separate application. 

Leave does not have to be taken all at once. You can take as little as eight consecutive hours per week. For example, you 
could take two days off per week for chemotherapy treatment or one day off each week to care for a parent in the hospital.  

 

 Learn more about the program and get ready to apply at www.paidleave.wa.gov and in our Benefit Guide 
(www.paidleave.wa.gov/benefit-guide). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s yours – 
you’ve earned it. 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/leave/paid-sick-leave/
http://www.lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/leave/paid-sick-leave/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
https://www.paidleave.wa.gov/benefit-guide


 
 

www.paidleave.wa.gov  
7 

Should you apply? Answer these questions 
Yes No 

1. [  ]  [  ] Did you work at least 820 hours (about 16 hours a week) in the last year in    
   Washington state? (The 820 hours can be for one job or multiple jobs) 

 
2.  [  ]  [  ] Have you experienced a “qualifying event”? Events include: 

• Welcoming a new child into your family through birth, adoption or foster placement; 
• Your own serious health condition or illness, like recovering from surgery or a serious injury; 
• Caring for a seriously ill or injured family member; 
• A qualifying military family leave event. 

 
3. [  ]  [  ] None of these conditions apply to me: 

• Solely employed by the federal government 
• Working for an employer with an approved voluntary plan (if you are unsure, ask your 

employer) 
• Covered by a collective bargaining agreement that hasn’t expired, been opened or 

renegotiated since October 19, 2017 
• Self-employed and have not opted in to Paid Family and Medical Leave 
• Solely employed by a federally recognized tribe that has not opted in to Paid Family and 

Medical Leave  
 

If you answered “Yes” to each of these, you likely will qualify for the program.  

 
The next update to this guide is expected to be made: 
March 2020 

Change log 
Nov. 22, 2019  

• Clarified the “waiting week” (p 4) 

January 2020 
• Updated information around January 2020 applications  
• Added link to paidleave.wa.gov/after-you-apply 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
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