

# Employer requirement to provide notice to employees

Employers with employees working in Washington state must provide the following notice to employees who may be eligible for Paid Family and Medical Leave the later of:

- Five business days after an employee's seventh consecutive day of absence due to family or medical leave, or
- Five business days after an employer becomes aware that the employee's absence is due to family or medical leave.

## Paid Family and Medical Leave

### **Statement of Employee Rights**

#### You may qualify for Paid Family and Medical Leave

As of Jan. 1, 2020, Washington employees who have worked 820 hours or more in the qualifying period and experience(d) a qualifying event have access to Paid Family and Medical Leave.

Employees who have missed work due to family or medical reasons may be eligible for paid family or medical leave for the following qualifications:

- Care for and bond with a child younger than 18 following birth or placement
- Care for yourself or a family member experiencing a serious health condition
- Certain military-connected events.

Paid Family and Medical Leave requires that you give your employer(s) written notice at least 30 days in advance of when you plan to take leave. However, if the reason you need leave was not foreseeable, you may notify your employer(s) as soon as possible.

The Paid Family and Medical Leave Benefit Guide provides information on how to apply for benefits and submit weekly claims. It also explains your rights and responsibilities under the law. Download the guide at www.paidleave.wa.gov/benefit-guide.

For more information about how to apply, contact us at 833-717-2273 or visit www.paidleave.wa.gov.

### Important information for when you apply

Employees may accept or reject supplemental benefit payments.

Employee name:	Date:
Employer UBI #:	This employer offers supplemental benefits: Y N
Note: Except during the waiting week, employees cannot use employer provided paid time off at the same time as Paid Family and Medical Leave, unless the employer chooses to offer a "supplemental"	
benefit." Supplemental benefits can be used along with Paid Family and Medical Leave to provide	
additional pay while an employee receives partial wage replacement through Paid Leave benefits.	