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What you need to know 
Am I eligible? 
Paid Family and Medical Leave is available to almost everyone working in 
Washington. You can receive the benefit when you have: 

1. Worked 820 hours (about 16 hours a week) in employment in 
Washington during the “qualifying period.”  

2. Experienced a “qualifying event.” 
Full-time, part-time, temporary and seasonal work counts. The benefit is 
also portable between jobs, so if you work more than one job or switch 
employers all the reportable hours you work in Washington count toward 
eligibility.  
 
How much time do I get?  
Within your “claim year” you can take: 

• Up to 12 weeks of medical leave to recover from or get treatment 
for a “serious health condition,” or family leave to take care of a 
qualifying family member who is ill or injured with a “serious 
health condition” or to bond with a new child or for certain military 
events.  

• Up to 16 weeks of combined medical and family leave if you have 
events covered by both in the same claim year. Any medical leave 
designated as the “postnatal period” is included in the total 
amount of leave available to you. 

• Up to 18 weeks of combined medical and family leave if you 
experience a condition in pregnancy that results in incapacity, like 
being put on bedrest or experiencing postpartum depression,, and 
then take bonding leave. Any medical leave designated as the 
“postnatal period” is included in the total amount of leave 
available to you. 

• You can take leave intermittently, as long as you are on leave for a 
minimum of eight consecutive hours each week.  

  
What benefit do I receive? 
We will determine your weekly benefit amount based on wages reported 
by your employer(s). The maximum weekly benefit amount is $1,427 in 
2023 and the minimum is $100 (unless you make less than an average of 
$100 per week, then you will receive your full wage). You may receive up to 
90 percent of your average weekly wage, depending on your income. A 
calculator to estimate your benefit payment is available at 
paidleave.wa.gov/estimate-your-weekly-pay. 
 
How do I apply? 
You can apply online (paidleave.wa.gov/apply-now) or with a paper application.  
 
Paper applications are available upon request. Translated versions of the paper application are available for download at 
paidleave.wa.gov. 

Qualifying events 
Medical leave (for yourself) 
 

• Recovery from your own serious 
health condition or injury, 
including pregnancy and 
childbirth. 
 

Family leave 
• Caring for a family member with a 

serious health condition or injury. 
• Bonding with a new child coming 

into your family through birth, 
adoption or foster placement. 

• Certain events for military 
families. 

You can take leave for 
• Yourself 

 
Or a family member: 

• Spouse  
• Domestic partner 
• Children (including step and foster) 
• Grandchildren  
• Siblings  
• Parents (including in-law and loco 

parentis) 
• Grandparents  
• Son-in-law and daughter-in-law 
• Someone who has an expectation to 

rely on you for care—whether you 
live together or not. 

 
 
 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/estimate-your-weekly-pay
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/apply-now
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When should I apply? 
Submit your application within 30 days after your qualifying event has taken place, for example, after you’ve had surgery.  

• You can complete most of the application process ahead of time. This includes creating an online account, getting 
your documentation ready and your medical certification signed, and filling in most of the application.  

• You’ll also need to notify your employer at least 30 days in advance if you know about the need that far ahead of 
time.  

 
Do I have to use other leave, like vacation or sick time, before I use Paid Family and Medical Leave? 
No. Your employer can't make you use paid or unpaid time off before you use Paid Family and Medical Leave. Taking Paid 
Family and Medical Leave is your choice.  
 
What if I need to care for a family member? 
Paid Family and Medical Leave is all about caring for yourself and your family. If you are eligible for Paid Family and 
Medical Leave and someone who meets the definition of a family member needs you to provide care, this program is here 
for you. You need to: 

• Meet the eligibility requirements of the program. 
• Notify your employer in writing at least 30 days in advance of planned leave, or as soon as you can for unplanned 

leave. 
• Get required documentation from the patient’s healthcare provider.  
• Apply for Paid Family and Medical Leave at www.paidleave.wa.gov 

Application process  

 

• Your type of leave may not have a waiting week (learn more about the waiting week on page 5). 
• Notify your employer as soon as possible if your leave is unforeseen. For example, you or your family member get 

in an accident. 

 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
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Get ready to apply 
Assess eligibility.  

• Use the questionnaire on page 7. 
• Go to our website to take a short quiz (paidleave.wa.gov/quiz). 

 
Give written notice to your employer at least 30 days before you plan to start your leave. If your leave was not 
foreseeable, provide written notice as soon as you are able. You can give notice in various ways, including text or email. 
You can also download a template notification at paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply. You may also want to keep a copy 
of the notification you give your employer for your records. 
 
Get your documents ready 

• Proof of ID, such as: 
o Driver’s license,  
o Passport or  
o Utility and phone bills (a complete list of documents is at paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply). 

 
The documentation or form you’ll need depends on the type of leave you’re applying for:  
• Medical leave:  

o Medical certification signed by a healthcare provider:  
• Certification form (medical leave),  
• FMLA paperwork, or  
• other documentation that meets the requirements.  

o It may take two weeks or more for your doctor’s office to process this paperwork, so send it to them as soon 
as possible. 

 

Apply for leave  
Create your account(s) 
• Go to paidleave.wa.gov/log-in. Click on the “Worker log in” button. 

This will take you to the state’s log-in service, SecureAccess 
Washington. Use an existing SAW login or create a new one. (Not 
sure if you have a SAW login? Click the “Get Help” button on the 
SAW homepage to find out.) 

• In SAW you’ll add Paid Family and Medical Leave to your services 
by: 

o Selecting “Browse a list of services” 
o In the list of services find “Employment Security 

Department” and click it 
o Click the "Apply” button next to Paid Family and Medical 

Leave  
• You will then create a Paid Family and Medical Leave account.  

 
 
 

Don’t apply for leave until after your 
medical event has taken place. 

 
What is in the application? 
→ Basic information about yourself (full 

name, date of birth, address, contact 
information, Social Security Number. If 
you do not have a Social Security 
Number, you may fill out a paper 
application or call our Customer Care 
Team for more information). 

→ Verification of your employment history.  
→ The date you notified your employer 

about your leave. 
→ What type of leave you’re taking (family 

or medical). 
  

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/quiz
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply
https://paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/help-center
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/log-in
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Fill in the application(s) 
• You’ll provide basic information and verify your employment 

history. 
• A paper application is available if you do not have a Social 

Security Number.  
• Be sure to upload your proof of ID document(s) and Certification 

form(s) to complete the application.  
• Your employer will also be notified by mail when you apply. They 

will have 18 days to contest your application if they feel you are not eligible for the program. 
 
Upload documents 
• Proof of identification documents 
• Certification form (medical leave) or Certification form (family leave)  (if applicable) 
• Certification form (pregnancy or birth) (if applicable) 
• Documentation for placement (if applicable) 
 
Get your determination 
• Submit your application and the necessary documents.  
• We will review your application and may contact you if we have questions. 
• Once we make a decision, we will mail you a determination letter at the mailing address you gave us.  

o This letter will tell you your maximum weekly benefit amount and confirm the dates of your approved leave 
and claim year.  

 
Waiting week  
• The law requires a “waiting week” for some types of leave. There is no waiting week for parental bonding leave, 

medical leave taken during the “postnatal period” and military exigency. 
• Your “waiting week” is the first week you are approved to file a weekly claim and used leave. You will not be paid for 

that week.  
• Claim weeks always start on Sunday and end the following Saturday. To qualify as a waiting week, you must claim a 

minimum of eight consecutive hours. If your qualifying event occurs after Sunday in the first week you need to take 
leave, the waiting week may be less than a week.  

• During this time, you may use paid time off from your employer, including paid vacation or sick days, without impact 
on your Paid Family and Medical Leave benefits.  

• If the first week of your paid family or medical leave happens before you receive your approval letter and can begin 
filing weekly claims, that first week still counts as your waiting week.  
For example, your paid medical leave start date is July 13, 2022. You receive your approval letter on July 22, 2022. The 
first week of your approved leave is your waiting week, so the first week you will receive payment is the week 
beginning on Sunday, July 17, 2022.  

 
WEEKLY CLAIMS AND PAYMENTS 
Weekly claims 
• Weekly claims are how you receive your payments.  
• Once we approve your application, you can begin filing weekly claims.  
• You can file claims for weeks you were on leave after your qualifying event occurred but before we approved your 

application.  
• You also may be able to backdate your claim because you were unable to file for Paid Family and Medical Leave right 

after your event occurred.  

Important tip! 
Double-check your name and your SSN 
before finalizing your account creation.  
 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
https://paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply/
https://www.paidleave.wa.gov/get-ready-to-apply
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• The minimum claim for each week is eight consecutive hours. That’s one day for full-time employees but might be 
more than one day if you work part-time.  

• You can file weekly claims in your Paid Leave account or by calling us.  
• If you are taking leave intermittently, working or using paid time off instead of taking leave, you must still submit a 

weekly claim.  
o The first question on the weekly claim is, “Do you want to receive Paid Leave benefits for this week?” If you 

didn’t miss work or don’t want to use your benefits for some other reason, select “no.” You will not see this 
question if the weekly claim may be for your waiting week. 

• On the questionnaire, you will answer a series of questions that pertain to your type of leave. You may answer 
different questions from one week to the next. 

• The status of your weekly claims and your weekly claim history is available in your benefit account. 
• You cannot collect Unemployment Insurance or workers’ compensation benefits at the same time as Paid Family and 

Medical Leave. 
 

Payments 
• If you use paid time off at the same time as Paid Family and Medical Leave your benefit payment will be affected. 

However, your employer may choose to offer additional pay to you while you are using Paid Family and Medical Leave 
– this is called a “supplemental benefit.” Not all paid time off is a supplemental benefit, so you need to check with 
your employer if this is available to you. It is your employer’s choice to offer a supplemental benefit, and your choice 
to take it if it is available. 

o If you worked or received other benefits, like employer-provided paid time off that is not designated as a 
supplemental benefit, your payment will be reduced that week. 

• If you apply online, you can choose to be paid via direct deposit or a prepaid debit card. If you apply on paper, you 
can only receive a prepaid debit card at this time. 
 

Visit paidleave.wa.gov/after-you-apply for more information and tips on what to expect after you apply. 
 
 

More to know 
You may be eligible for job protection. If you work for a company 
that employs more than 50 people in Washington, you have worked 
there for at least a year and for a total of 1,250 hours in the past year 
for that employer (about 24 hours per week), you are likely eligible for 
job protection. 

Using this program is your choice. It is yours – you earned it. While 
you are welcome to use other leave options you may have before or after you take Paid Family and Medical Leave, your 
employer cannot require you to use other leave options before Paid Family and Medical Leave.  

Check with your employer if they offer a “supplemental benefit.” You cannot use employer provided paid time off at 
the same time as Paid Family and Medical Leave, unless your employer offers what is called “a supplemental benefit.” 
Supplemental benefits are something an employer may choose to offer that can be used along with Paid Family and 
Medical Leave to provide additional pay while you are receiving the benefit. Ask your employer if this option is available to 
you. 

It’s yours – 
you’ve earned it. 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
https://paidleave.wa.gov/after-you-apply
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This is not the same as paid sick leave. Paid sick days are for short-term health conditions that keep you from working, 
typically for less than a week. For more information on paid sick leave, visit www.lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/leave/paid-sick-
leave 

Multiple people can provide care for the same qualifying family member. Caregivers do not have to take leave at the 
same time and more than one person can take leave for the same qualifying family member, as long as they all meet 
eligibility requirements. Each person will fill out a separate application.  

Leave does not have to be taken all at once. You can take as little as eight consecutive hours per week. For example, you 
could take two days off per week for chemotherapy treatment or one day off each week to care for a parent in the hospital.    

Find frequently asked questions and more information at paidleave.wa.gov and in our Benefit Guide 
(http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/benefit-guide). 

 

 

Should you apply? Answer these questions 
Yes No 

1. [  ]  [  ] Did you work at least 820 hours (about 16 hours a week) in the last year or before the pandemic  
began (2019 through early 2020) in Washington state? (The 820 hours can be for one job or 
multiple jobs) 

 
2.  [  ]  [  ] Have you experienced a “qualifying event”? Events include: 

• Welcoming a new child into your family through birth, adoption or foster placement; 
• Your own serious health condition or illness, like recovering from surgery or a serious injury; 
• Caring for a seriously ill or injured family member; 
• A qualifying military family leave event. 

 
3. [  ]  [  ] None of these conditions apply to me: 

• Solely employed by the federal government 
• Working for an employer with an approved voluntary plan (if you are unsure, ask your 

employer) 
• Covered by a collective bargaining agreement that hasn’t expired, been opened or 

renegotiated since October 19, 2017 
• Self-employed and have not opted in to Paid Family and Medical Leave 
• Solely employed by a federally recognized tribe that has not opted in to Paid Family and 

Medical Leave  
 

If you answered “Yes” to each of these, you likely will qualify for the program.  

 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/leave/paid-sick-leave/
http://www.lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/leave/paid-sick-leave/
https://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/benefit-guide
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Definitions  
Qualifying period 
Normally, the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters or, if that does not get you to the required 820 
hours, the last four completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the application for leave. 

Qualifying event 
A qualifying event is a thing that happens for which you need to take leave. Not all illnesses, injuries or situations will 
qualify you to take Paid Family and Medical Leave.  

• The law says, “paid family leave [is] for the birth or placement of a child with the employee, for the care of a family 
member who has a serious health condition, and for a qualifying exigency under the federal family and medical 
leave act,” and “paid medical leave [is] for an employee's own serious health condition.”  

• There is more information on page 2 about qualifying events. 
Serious health condition 
A definition of a “serious health condition” is provided by law (RCW 50A.05.010), and it is at the discretion of a healthcare 
provider to make an initial decision about whether your or your family member’s condition meets that definition.  

• A serious health condition could include an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that 
involves inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care facility; continuing treatment by a health 
care provider; incapacity due to pregnancy or for prenatal care; incapacity for some chronic serious health 
conditions, and more.  

• Things that would not be included are the common cold, routine dental work, headaches that are not migraines 
and earaches.  

• More information can be found at paidleave.wa.gov/healthcare-providers. 
Claim year 
The claim year begins on the Sunday of the week you submit your initial application. The claim year expires 52 weeks later. 
Your claim year will start even if your initial application is denied (note: the claim year does not start if your application 
was denied because you do not have enough worked hours). 

• If you submit more than one application (such as medical leave and then family leave after giving birth) your claim 
year does not restart.  

• We have a quiz on our website to help you figure out if you may be eligible. 
Supplemental benefit 
Because Paid Family and Medical Leave is partial wage replacement, your employer may choose to provide additional pay 
to you while on Paid Family and Medical Leave to supplement the benefit you receive. This is a supplemental benefit.  

• This can be provided in any way your employer chooses, including designating certain paid time off as a 
supplemental benefit. Any supplemental benefit amount can be provided. It is your employer’s choice to offer this 
and your choice to receive it if offered. Paid time off is not automatically a supplemental benefit, so it is important 
to check with your employer if this is available to you.  

• You do not report supplemental benefits on your weekly claim but paid time off that is not considered a 
supplemental benefit must be reported.

 
 

 

 

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A.05.010.
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/healthcare-providers
https://paidleave.wa.gov/quiz/
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Changes log 
November 2019  

• Clarified the “waiting week” (p 4) 

January 2020 
• Updated information around January 2020 applications  
• Added link to paidleave.wa.gov/after-you-apply 

March 2020 
• Updated information about hardship policy (p 6) 
• Added “son-in-law and daughter-in-law” to list of qualifying family members (p 2) 

May 2020 
• Added information about the Certification of Birth form (p 4) 

June 2021 
• Updated information about the maximum weekly benefit amount (p 2) 
• Removed information about the hardship policy and events in 2019 (p 6) 

August 2021 

• Added to list of who you can take leave for (p 2) 
• Added definitions for qualifying period, qualifying event, serious health condition, claim year and supplemental 

benefit (p 7, 8) 
August 2022 

• Added link to certification forms (p 5)  
• Added information about the waiting week (p 5) 

December 2022 

• Updated information about the 2023 maximum weekly benefit amount (p 2) 

May 2023 

• Clarified information about when to submit application (p 3) 
• Removed information about COVID-expanded qualifying period (p 8)   

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
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